Why so many spinner colors?

nefarious_1_

Reaction score
I'm new to fly fishing and received a number of flies as gifts as well as bought quite a bit myself to start out. I have several different colors of spinner (mainly rusty, mahogany, cream/sulfur, and olive) and have begun to realize that just about every spinner I see on the water is rusty or cream in color. Granted I've only fished in the East so far...

I did some research and found that the vast majority of spinners are these two colors or can be imitated by them. So why have so many other colors? Is it just to sell more flies (the saying that most fishing lures are made for fisherman comes to mind) or are there actually some spinners that exist in olive, red, or varying colors?

Last edited:

silver creek

Reaction score
This isn't exactly an answer to your question but the light in the morning and evenings at sunrise and sunset is redder than when the sun is overhead.

Gary Borger refers to a discussion he had with John Goddard of The Trout and The Fly, A New Approach, which has an extensive discussion on trout vision, pp 59 - 105. John had wondered why the Sherry Spinner which has a reddish orange tint would catch more fish than flies of the natural color. The puzzle was solved when John went under water and looked at the naturals which had a reddish glow due to the reddish light at sunset. The flat spinner wings on the water had an orange glow.

The red/orange light at sunset and dusk causes the naturals at this time of day to take on an orange reddish tint. Flies of this color fished at or near dusk will catch more fish than flies that are identical the color of the naturals. An orange spinner fished at sunset will "match the hatch" no matter what the color of the natural.