Midwest Fly Patterns Question (please dont be too upset)

awkwardsportsman

Reaction score
Hi all!!! So I must admit that I am scared to ask for this advice but I really could use the help here. I am new to fly fishing first of all. I have been spin fishing my entire life in the northwoods of WI, but now at 27 am getting hooked on fly fishing. My problem is I am having a heck of a time deciding what flies to bring with me on my outings. I have been studying the bugs of the rivers, and looking and watching countless different patterns, and it is a bit overwhelming. So here it is:

If you could bring 5 dry flies and 5 nymphs with you to fly fish in MN and WI what would you bring. Targeting brookies, browns and bows.

I will be making a trip to a major fly shop soon and of course will ask advice there, but I like lots of opinions. So far the flash back pheasant nymph is one that I locked in.

Thank you in advance for helping out a very green fly fisherman.

williamhj

Reaction score
I'm sure folks who fish up there more will jump in but I wanted to say welcome and don't worry about asking for advice!

I've fished up there a few times (in-laws have a cabin) and been successful with bushy dries like humpys as well as parachute adams, and some picky trout hit soft hackles nicely! That said, it's only been July that I've fished there and only a few times for trout (usually went for bass). Depending on where you are in the northwoods of WI, talk to Bill at We Tie It Fly Shop in Boulder Junction. I've stopped in there a few times while we were out that way and he's nice and helpful.

klunker

Reaction score