If you could fish only two perdigons?

saflyfish

Reaction score
Im just getting into tying perdigon nymphs but there are literally hundreds of different color combinations.
I want to choose two that would cover 90% of my euro nymphing situations.
What would you guys choose?

thank you

ottosmagic13

Reaction score
Why?The whole point of them is they are easy to tie and have limitless color combinations.

That said: My go to is olive with a orange hot spot but I have 10-20 different combinations.

step-6-perdigon-nymph.jpg

quimby

Reaction score
Like Otto, my go to would be some kind of olive pattern. The great thing about Perdigons is that you can easily customize them. I have tied the basic olive pattern with different hot spot colors, hot spot at the tail instead of color, added a rib, krystal flash for the body, etc. With just one basic pattern you can have so many variations.

moucheur2003

Reaction score
Probably (1) olive, gold rib, fluorescent orange collar, copper bead and (2) black, silver rib, fluorescent orange or fluorescent purple collar, silver bead. Although to be honest I haven't fished perdigons very often. These are just good colors in general for other styles of nymph, so I figure they must be good for perdigons too.

saflyfish

Reaction score
Thanks for all the responses.
What is the consensus on which is the best uv resin to use for perdigons?

moucheur2003

Reaction score
What is the consensus on which is the best uv resin to use for perdigons?
I don't think there is any consensus. Different people prefer different products. Some of us like the resin that our felllow forum member Silver Creek occasionally offers, because it cures to a hard rather than tacky finish. Some like formulations with thinner or thicker viscosity.