Double Hauls Or Rod?

vsyogi

Reaction score
Alright so I started practicing my double hauls today. Needless to say im having a problem with them. I start by letting out some line and get into single hauls to get more line out( my single hauls are fine I can feel the rod totally load up and feel the line straighten out). Then I go straight into the double hauls, as in the singles I feel the rod load up totally on the back cast and line straighten out. But whenever I get into the forward haul I notice the tip of the rod start to wobble. So the line gets all wavy and if I wait to long the line nips the ground, or if I rush it I get the line to make the dreaded SNAP! Well the line kind of looks like this------

____LINE TIP
(_______~~__~~__~~______
WAVY LINE

I know its not the best example but I hope you get it. The thing is I get the distance from the double hauls but looking to get the presentation better. Does it sound like it's me or the rod? Please help!!!!!

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
It could be two things.
1. Technique. You are overpowering your forward cast. Back off a bit.
2. Rod. What you have could be "tip bounce." This happens with rods made from lower quality materials. The rod can't handle the higher line speeds that you are generating with the double haul.

If you have a local shop around you, have the shop guy look at your cast and cast your rod. He could probably evaluate what might be your problem.

If you have a friend who is a skilled caster, have him do the same.

MP

BigCliff

Reaction score
1. Technique. You are overpowering your forward cast. Back off a bit.
This is my guess. You are most likely overpowering the forward cast.

Other possibilities are that you are accelerating too fast in the early part of the forward power stroke. Without a haul this would generally result in a tailing loop, but I suppose combined with a haul it could produce waves in the rod tip.