whipping noise...

Reaction score
I'm very new to fly fishing, I've fished all my life and just now picking up the fly rod. I wish I got started a while back.

Anyways, when I'm casting I'm hearing a whipping noise from my line while it's behind me. Is this ok or is that noise telling me I'm doing something wrong? Also on that note...should the fly hit the water behind me while I'm casting or should it stay airborne?

Thanks for any help.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
John,

Welcome to the group. The noise is not good and the fly (if it doesn't get snapped off) shouldn't hit the water behind you.

There are many threads in "The Fly cast" forum that address all sort of maladies in the cast. For starters shorten the length that you are trying to cast and you need to at least get a good read on casting. Tom McNally's "Fly Fishing" was helpful to me. Published in 1978 and still a good source for information. Try the local library or find a copy on the E bay for a few bucks, you can't go wrong with his book. Be sure to find the original book "Fly Fishing" because there have been reprints that fail to improve on the original, my opinion.

You could also seek out anyone who offers casting instruction in your area.

Ard

patyer

Reaction score
Definetly helps to have someone give you a quick lesson on casting. I've fished for over 25 years but flyfishing was an all new experience. I think also understanding the mechanics of fly casting helps a great deal. Once you have the foundation you can work on what works best for your given situation/rod.

Rip Tide

Reaction score
Like the others have said, you're going to need better help than anyone can give you on an interweb forum, but to answer your questions..:rolleyes:

You're most likely getting the 'whipping' sound because you're starting your forward cast before the backcast is finished.
You need to turn your head and watch it happen.
Most likely you are doing this because your fly is hitting the water ;)