The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > >

Fly fishing FAQs Find answers to the some frequently asked fly fishing questions...

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Old 09-20-2017, 07:18 PM

diesel99 is on a distinguished road
Default stock trout help

Hello all I'm new to fly fishing but I love it.my question is this I fly fished Cherokee today for about 5 hours non trophy waters and didn't catch anything as usual. But guys were catching them on spinners and corn out of the same holes I was fishing so I know they were in there my question is the reason they were not taking a fly because they are stock fish?
Old 09-20-2017, 07:23 PM

jayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant futurejayr has a brilliant future
Default Re: stock trout help

You need to provide more info.

What was your rig?

Tippet size?

Fly?

Most likely it could be they were stocked fish, but I've caught plenty of stockers on my fly rod.
Likes hairwing530 liked this post
Old 09-21-2017, 08:43 AM

adblouky is on a distinguished road

My S-I-L says stock trout are often fed trout pellets, so they will favor trout pellets on hooks rather than flies. That's been my local experience but I don't know what I'm doing.
Old 09-21-2017, 08:52 AM
stock trout help

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

Quote: