Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  8
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: stock trout help

1. Default stock trout help

Hello all I'm new to fly fishing but I love it.my question is this I fly fished Cherokee today for about 5 hours non trophy waters and didn't catch anything as usual. But guys were catching them on spinners and corn out of the same holes I was fishing so I know they were in there my question is the reason they were not taking a fly because they are stock fish?

Default Re: stock trout help

You need to provide more info.

What was your rig?

Tippet size?

Fly?

Most likely it could be they were stocked fish, but I've caught plenty of stockers on my fly rod.
    Mainline the blueline

3. Likes hairwing530 liked this post

My S-I-L says stock trout are often fed trout pellets, so they will favor trout pellets on hooks rather than flies. That's been my local experience but I don't know what I'm doing.

Quote Originally Posted by adblouky View Post
    My S-I-L says stock trout are often fed trout pellets, so they will favor trout pellets on hooks rather than flies. That's been my local experience but I don't know what I'm doing.
    I used to work in a trout hatchery and had a lot of opportunity to test that pellet theory.
    Hatchery trout are conditioned to react to the sound of many pellets hitting the water at once
    They do not react to a single pellet on the water any more than they would a cigarette butt.

They learn quite quickly that aquatic insects are food... with-in a day or so,
    The simpler the outfit, the more skill it takes to manage it, and the more pleasure one gets in his achievements. --- Horace Kephart

6. Likes ia_trouter, hairwing530, fredaevans liked this post
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by jayr View Post
    You need to provide more info.

What was your rig?

Tippet size?

Fly?

Most likely it could be they were stocked fish, but I've caught plenty of stockers on my fly rod.