Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  2

Default Fly Size Guide, or: What Size Fly Is This?

So, I'm new to fly fishing and have been trying to get a handle on what size leader/tippet to use with different sized flies, and I finally started to understand it. But, I had one problem: I had no idea what size flies I had. It doesn't do me much good to know to use a 4x tippet with a size 14 fly if I don't know what a size 14 fly is.

Forums like this recommend going to a local fly shop and looking at all the different sizes to get a general idea, but I have no decent fly shops near me. So, I made this handy guide:

DSCF7186.JPG

I found a pdf with a fly guide here wich I printed at 100%, cut out a section (the one I used was at the bottom of page 5), then taped it up so it would be relatively sturdy and waterproof. I also decided to just write a little cheatsheet with tippet/fly sizes on the back.

DSCF7187.JPG

Now, as a newbie, I can stick this in my pocket and have a handy guide while I'm out fishing until I'm able to do without. People that have been fly fishing their whole lives might think this is silly and unnecessary, but I really had no idea what sizes my flies were. Hopefully someone else with this same problem will be able to find this useful in the future which is why I'm writing out this post.

Sam

2. Likes mcnerney liked this post

Default Re: Fly Size Guide, or: What Size Fly Is This?

Quote Originally Posted by samanich View Post
    So, I'm new to fly fishing and have been trying to get a handle on what size leader/tippet to use with different sized flies, and I finally started to understand it. But, I had one problem: I had no idea what size flies I had. It doesn't do me much good to know to use a 4x tippet with a size 14 fly if I don't know what a size 14 fly is.

Forums like this recommend going to a local fly shop and looking at all the different sizes to get a general idea, but I have no decent fly shops near me. So, I made this handy guide: