Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Default Fishing small streamers on a Zephrus 84wt anyone?

Ive purchased a Zephrus 84wt. While Im still learning...everything.. Ive been tying 14-6 flies for it but would like to use some 10-6 beadhead streamers as well. I have a glass 3wt that Ill be using for my smaller flies, but I would like the Zephrus to use in situations where I need to level up But still prob casting within 40 on average. I know it will cast streamers, but not sure of its limits. Anyone have experience in this regard? With line, lead size etc? What distance is comfortable and hook size? Thx

Blog Entries

Default Re: Fishing small streamers on a Zephrus 84wt anyone?

Hello and welcome to the forum

I do not have the exact same rod but have been casting streamers for a long time. For trout fishing I have been a 5 weight user more than any other rod / line weight and know that you can efficiently cast feather winged streamers up to size 4 long shank hook all day without issues. You may be quite surprised at what your rod will throw once you adapt your techniques to suit various size larger flies. Basically it's all about the casting technique regarding what any one person can make work on a given rod.

The bead head flies? Are you able to post a picture of them or one of them for reference. I ask because I've not used them myself. Because they have a bead head which I'll assume is either brass or tungsten you should take care so not to strike your own rod tip during the casting. Other than that caution I'd say that limiting the number of false casts will be of great benefit also.