braided backing to flyline, which knot?

marcelnl

Reaction score
I read somewhere while looking up a picture of the actual knot itself that the usual knot should rather not be used in case a braided hollow backing is used, but I did not find any reference to an alternative knot in that case....

being afraid to mess things up as a newbie I was wondering if any of you would have a tip or could confirm that the usual knot is OK to use or that I should follow a tip I read using silicon tube to connect the two (I guess a drop of glue would not hurt ?

I got myself some Cortland braided backing and an airflo forty plus extreme distance ridge floating and intermediate line for both spools.

I could also do with some advice on the method to use to connect a braided leader to the fly line, as the loop to loop seems bulky yet convenient to me while at the same time a gut feeling tells me that the braid sleeve might allow for a smoother connection.

shorthaul

Reaction score
Hi marcelnl

i use loops everywhere---I use power pro for backing and tie a large bimini twist (100% knot strength)---tie it big enough to pass your reel through and you can change your line in minutes---if the line doesnt have a loop, ill make one and wrap it with 6/0 tying thread then coat it with varnish or knot sense---a perfection loop at both ends of the leader makes all the connections easily changed---tie tippet with a modified uni knot and a clinch knot on the fly assures that you wont lose the tippet if you break off your fly

theres a bunch of ways to accomplish it---it just how i do it

have fun
mike

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi marcelnl,

I was going to take a swag at your questions but I think I need a little more information.

1. Is the Cortland Braided backing one of the super braids made with Spectra?

2. What are your target fish?

3. Do you have two spools for the reel?

4. What size fly line are we talking about?