Fly line to leader albright damage

bluechipfish

Reaction score
I've been tying albrights for so many years in the conventional realm, and even use a close relative for putting wire traces on live bait sailfish rigs.

For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to stop the mono from digging out and "shaving" the fly line when I go to tighten it down. I'm looping the mono around the fly line. Anyone have a tip? Could I just have bad fly line? It was a cheap line, and is about 2 years old.

ddb

Reaction score
I can't think of any way an Albright that doesn't dig deep into and even strip off the line coating would stay in place during a fight with a heavy fish or even a determined effort to free a snagged fly! It s the wrong connection for hard mono and soft synthetic coatings.

There are way better options.

Most buy lines with ready made loops and then loop to loop the leader. The line loop can wear over time and even break. But you can reloop the fly line by cutting it back a smidge, stripping off the coating and reinserting the braid in itself.

The best connection form the start IMO is a braided mono sleeve with a loop. The braid slides over and up the fly line point and is anchored with barrel knots and covered by a thin coat of AquaSeal.

You can also insert the leader point into the core of a short section of stripped fly line and knot lock in place AquaSeal.

Youtube shows all these options.

ddb

sweetandsalt

Reaction score