Sylk Fly Lines

LCannady

Reaction score
First off, I am brand new to this site and pretty new at fly fishing. The forum instructions said to say Hi, so Hi to everyone...and thanks for everything that I've already learned from a bunch of you guys.

I got here by trying to decide on a few fly lines for the few rods that I just got or hope to have soon. I've been doing a lot of reading on fly fishing in general, and I've been practicing my casts, both indoors, in front of a book, and out on a lawn. I still need to go fishing sometime, too!

I found this site while searching for info on the Cortland 444 Classic Sylk line. I also just searched this site, but the few posts I found were pretty old. I also just sent the following message to "someone," but I thought I may as well see if anyone here can also post an update, so that everyone can be current on this subject (I was thinking that is partly what this forum is about):

I am relatively new at the sport of fly fishing, and I’ve been reading lots of articles about it, trying to at least improve my understanding of various topics, including the selection of rods, reels, lines, leaders, knots, etc. I must say there is a lot to learn (…and then I have to also learn to fish!:eek:). I ran across your review of the Sylk fly line, which gave some very good first impressions. Because I also read some later comments from a few folks who gave up on the line, I was wondering if you could offer me your final conclusions on this subject.