Choosing fly line -- Redington CT 9' 4wt

somn

Reaction score
So, I'm new to fly fishing at about a year and half of experience. I just upgraded my packaged Quarrow 8'6" 5wt to a Redington CT 9' 4wt as my 'big' rod after a lot of research (I also have a 7'6" 3wt for small streams) -- plus it doesn't hurt that they can still be had for around $100 since the Tempt came out.

As the subject states, I need a fly line. I'm going nuts searching through threads for recommendations and would love suggestions specific to this moderate-action rod. One thing I've seen said numerous times is NOT to go with a line that's 1/2 weight heavy, but I'm not exactly sure how to know or not. If I were forced to pull the trigger right now, it would be for either the Cortland 444 WF Peach or Sylk.

Some people say 'don't worry it, any halfway decent name-brand line you get will be okay' while others say 'don't skimp and try to save $20 on one of the most important parts of your setup'. I probably fall in with the latter crowd. I'm willing to spend the money if it'll be worth it, and if the line presents difficulties that are a matter of technique, I can learn/work to overcome them.

So... any suggestions?

[edit] Floating for dries, primarily.

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
You are correct about the half heavies. Stay away from those.

If I was going to choose a line based off of past experiences with that rod, I would look at the Scientific Anglers Mastery Trout and the Wulff Triangle Taper lines. Both are great general purpose trout lines that have good dry fly presentations.

There are some dry fly specific fly lines that have long front tapers. I have not cast them on that rod.

Dennis

glcaddis

Reaction score