New 8 Weight Evolution LTX Backing

Gaboon

Reaction score
Hello, I just got a new Ross Evolution LTX for a NRX 8 Weight Saltwater Rod. I bought it for one of the free fly fishing classes Orvis has which will be at the NJ shore. I bought a spool of Scientific Anglers Amplitude MPX WF8F and 30lb. XTS Gel Spun Backing. Is 30lb. the right weight to use for an 8 weight fly rod and reel? I'm very new to fly fishing, so I don't really know what to use. I read that the XTS was good for saltwater fishing, and the lowest weight they had was 30lb. The guy teaching the class said we'll be going for Stripers and Blues mostly, and I will probably use it for Musky and big Bass normally. If 30lb. is too much, I can always save it for a bigger rod in the future, I got a pretty good deal on it. If it is good, how much should I use?

deceiverbob

Reaction score
I usually use at least 50 gel spun as it has a diameter that is closer to 20lb dacron/micron which is usually consodered standard backing for 8 wt and smaller rods. The 30lb is strong enough but your spool may not completely fill the reel before adding the fly line.

Last edited:

Gaboon

Reaction score
Well the spool is 250 yards, so should I use the entire thing? I saw something where they recommend putting the line on and then the backing until the spool is full, that way you know exactly how much to use. The only problem I have with that is, what to take it back off with. I don't have an extra spool yet

sweetandsalt

Reaction score
30# braid is so thin one can easily cut themselves controlling it during retrieval. For an 8-wt. outfit I usually recommend 60# gel spun which is not as thick as 30#Dacron. If you go up to Saltwater there is a thread about Gel Spun backing. You do have a great rod and reel though.

Gaboon

Reaction score