Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default A few general questions

I am new to fly fishing, I have been spin fishing spring streams and my local small river with ultralight spinning gear for nearly 20 years and I am interested in taking up fly fishing as well. I have an Orvis Battenkill II on a 7' Eagle Claw Featherlight, a cheap setup but enough to get started. My questions relate to line, leaders, and tippets. I want to be able to use everything, dry, nymph, and streamer and I would like to be able to fish my small local river too, for this should I be using a WF or a DT line? Next is the leader, what length should I be using and is 3x ideal for 5wt when fishing for trout up to 25"?

Again I am 100% new to fly fishing and do not know anyone that does, I apologize if I left any important info out, if so ask and I would be happy to answer any questions. Thanks in advance for the help. Also I'm trying to see if I like the sport before I invest too much money into it, hence the cheaper gear, I will most likely be using more reasonably priced line such as Rio MainStream or Scientific Anglers Air Cell. Again if anyone has any better suggestions in the $30 range I am fully open to suggestions.

Default Re: A few general questions

One thing I recommend is to find a local fly shop or Orvis store. They have beginning fly fishing programs that are usually free. You can learn a lot in an afternoon or two.
    Mainline the blueline

3. Likes proheli liked this post

Trout up to 25" in a small river? that sounds pretty awesome.

Local fly shop is definitely the way to go, as there's a lot of local specifics to the question you are asking that we don't know such as CFS, structure, how educated the trout are, etc. Generally speaking, its probably a little easier to throw a WF line for a beginner, and use 7-9 ft leaders for trout. Tippet size should generally be around fly hook size divided by 3 but can be obviously altered as needed.