Reel for my new Sage One 4 wt

rdrdrfan

Reaction score
So I think I have it narrowed down to either a Lamson Litespeed II or a Hardy DD. I'm not locked in on those two they just seem to have solid reviews for somewhat reasonably priced reels. Thoughts? I'm open to other suggestions as I'm a newb and am just getting cranked up. No decent local shop so I'm relegated to learning online.

Thanks in advance for the opinions, suggestions and help.

troutbanger20

Reaction score
Tibor light reels are awesome looking plus silent drag for a relatively medium to high price but you'll have it forever

sweetandsalt

Reaction score
My current trout reel preferences are the Hardy DD and Nautilus FWX. I don't care fore the too wide aspect ratio of the popular Lamsons so if I were to consider one of their models it would only be the new Speedster. Still not in the same class as the first two.

rdrdrfan

Reaction score
Okay I'm a bit of a gear collector with anything I dive into. Fly fishing is proving to be absolutely no different! Since my last post I've picked up a couple more rods and am thinking about another. The primary reason for this is to try out several rods on a trip I'm taking in a couple of months. So with that said, I have an update with more questions.

My primary fishing will be northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado on a mix of public and private waters. I'm gearing up for myself as well as my father-in-law for this particular trip. So at this point this is a list of the equipment that I currently have purchased:

4wt Rods:
Sage One 486-4
Winston VSL 486-4

5wt Rods:
Redington CT 865-4
TFO BVK 05 90 4 (Considering this purchase at the moment)

Reels:
Lamson Guru 1.5
Hardy 4000 DD (Considering this purchase at the moment)

So my questions are as follows:

Based on what I've got and what I'm looking at, what would you recommend for two more reels (or three if you don't think the Hardy DD is a good choice)?