looking not to break the bank

peter hanman

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I was looking for some advice about reels that won't cost more than $100. I just got at 3-5wt and 7-9wt topflite reels for my 5wt and 8wt rods. Firstly I was wondering anyone's thoughts on these reels and if there are any other good brands that don't destroy my wallet that I should know about. Secondly I was wondering about reel oil. What brands should I use? How often should I oil my reels?

Many thanks, and happy fishing!

bigjim5589

Reaction score
Peter, welcome to the site! I've been using Okuma Reels for several years & like them very much. Not expensive, good quality for the price & have held up very well. I have a couple of Sierra's & Integrity's. I rarely fish for trout, so the Sierra's get used for panfish on 3 & 4 wt rods, while the Integrity's get used for LM bass, SM bass & Striped bass on 8, 9 & 10 wt rods.

On my 6 wt is a Lamson LP-2 reel that I bought in 1989. This was before they became Waterworks/Lamson. It's no longer made & is still going strong. Lamson reels are generally more expensive than the $100 limit you've set, but if you can find one for that price or under, they're a fine, well made reel.

I use 3 in 1 oil on my fly reels. You really don't need a special oil, and any light reel oil will work. With hard use, I'll clean & oil them 2 or 3 times a year unless they get dunked, then I'll do it more often. I also fish in brackish water quite a bit, so have to be concerned with salt. Have never had a problem with any fly reel in the 47 years I've been fly fishing. :D

caseywise

Reaction score
welcome to the forum peter:D
although i cant speak for the reel you mentioned, i can highly recommend allen fly reels.
in particular the new ats reel, which also falls right in your price range;)
ATS Reel Series - Allen Fly Fishing Store
good reel for the money and absolutely awesome customer service.