Hatch Reels Drag Setting

sweetandsalt

Reaction score
Hatch Reels are among the finest built and most respected reels here on our Forum and in the extended fly fishing community. Trout fisherman love their precision and feel and big game and saltwater types are addicted to their rigidity and stacked, sealed drag mechanism.

But nothing in the World is perfect and while I have no experience with this problem on either of my two reels, a 5+ that lives on my Z-Axis#5 and 7+ which mates with S4s#8, there is something Hatch owners should know. We are correctly trained to clean and allow our reels to be completely dry before stowing them and also to set the drag setting to "zero", the drag knob completely turned to the lowest setting stop. This last, to have no compression on any spring or drag elements.

Except on Hatch Reels. Turned to full knob rotation stop can actually, though rarely, induce the stacked drag elements to lock, even miss-align, and not function! Fortunately this is easily preventable by turning the drag setting knob to one stop short of full off. This still eliminates unwanted compression during storage and also eliminated the risk of drag function anomalies. Odd, yes, this is an idiosyncrasy I don't understand but by performing this one stop short of off have eluded. Other than this rarefied oddity, Hatch Reels are among the very few totally reliable reels made suitable for intense use in the most demanding fly fishing environments.

tw1st3d5

Reaction score
Which version of reel do you have? I talked for quite a long time with someone from Hatch when I was looking at a used 7+ Monsoon. He stated that the issue you describe was a potential problem with the Monsoon version but has since been remedied with the Finatic version.

ausable

Reaction score
Hatch 5 plus on a 5 weight Z Axis? At 6.5 ounces sounds heavy

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

kuch

Reaction score