Nautilus xl max or 3tand t-70

bp8777

Reaction score
Im looking for a new 8wt reel and was wondering if anyone had any reviews of the nautilus xl max. I own a 3 tand t90 and love it, so i no the t 70 will fit the bill or the tx-80. Basically will be used on stripers, blues and small albies. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

sweetandsalt

Reaction score
Well, bp, I have limited knowledge of 3-TAND but I like their rubberized handles. Nautilus makes great reels and, since you ask, take a look at their new CCFX2 for strippers and albies. I fish an X and love it but regard its open frame design, size and marketing not with standing, as a light weight but high performance trout reel. May I suggest taking a look at Allen Atlas, Taylor Revolution, TFO Atoll and Cheeky Limitless too.

moucheur2003

Reaction score
The T-70 uses the same reel frame as the T-90, but with a larger arbor spool that has a bit less line capacity. The spools are interchangeable, and the T-70 spool will fit on your T-90 frame, so if you want to save a few bucks, just buy the T-70 spool.

callihan_44

Reaction score
i have had about 3 different nautilus reels and every single one of them was flawless in craftsmanship, i like how the drag knob clicks into place and doesnt accidentally move at low settings...

sweetandsalt

Reaction score