Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  16
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Possibly dumb question about reel sizing to rod

Looking for a reel for my 5wt Orvis H3. Several of the reels I am interested come in one of two sizes.

3-5wt
    5-7wt

Which would you lean toward for a 5wt H3? I am leaning smaller/lighter but sometimes spool capacity can be an issue. I also fear 5-7 is a bit heavy and unbalanced.

Default Re: Possibly dumb question about reel sizing to rod

I have no experience with that rod, but I tend to opt for the larger reel (e.g., I'd put a 5-6 reel on a 5 wt). That said, if in your shoes I would try various reels (with backing and line on) to see what weight balances best, then look up how much the best match weighs empty and then choose a reel that weighs about the same. Obviously the amount of backing will affect the weight, but as long as the test reel and the reel you decide to purchase have/will have approximately the same amount on I wouldn't think it would make a huge difference.

3. Likes trev, dennyk liked this post

For reel size perspective, watch Kelly Galloup's take. For reel weight issues, skip to the 3:50 mark.

I'm usually liking bigger capacity reels over smaller capacity reels unless there is a huge weight difference.

6. Likes dynaflow liked this post

I agree with all of Kelly's points about reel selection aside from the noise part. I guess I like rap music.

If I fished only to capture fish, my fishing trips would have ended long ago.
    ~Zane Grey

" . . . shouldn't a man stand on his own two feet and catch his own steelhead? Maybe put out some effort and find his own fish just for the fun of it?"
    ~Syd Glasso