Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Build your own tarpon rod?

Blog Entries

Default Build your own tarpon rod?

The problem with a lot of free time not spent fishing is a lot of free time spent thinking about fishing. I've decided I would like to pursue tarpon on the fly rather than with just the cheater stick next year, but as a broke grad student I need to do it on the cheap. I know that price-wise it is far less expensive to build my own, and I like the possibility of being able to tailor it to my own tastes. As much as I'd like a G. Loomis 12 wt or something on my rod rack, my wallet does not agree.

I've seen that Sevier makes a "Tiger Eye" blank in 4pc 12wt for under $90 dollars, and I've found a green heart abalone tarpon decal that I want to act as the thematic inspiration for the entire rod, with green and blue threading and hopefully a matching green heart abalone insert (or at least one that mimics the effect).

I am brand new to the fly rod building business, and I haven't seen a lot of customs in the tarpon-sized dept. Is this simply because the relative size of the market, or are there other factors involved? I am going to continue researching building my own rod, but am I crazy for seeking to built a 12wt as a starter? Am I going to run into problems with grips and seats or do the standard sizes more or less fit? I saw that with regard to dimensions, there is only a 0.05" difference in butt diameter, but I am not totally up on the specifics of rod building yet.

Who knows when all the money will come together for this creation but I won't be fishing for tarpon until next spring or summer so it's no hurry! I will continue trolling the fly rod building section and watching youtube videos and reading as much as I can on the subject!

A.J.

Default Re: Build your own tarpon rod?