Size 3 tip tops?

nick k

Reaction score
So I was planning on buying some 4pc 9'0'' 7wt blanks from Anglers Roost. I reached out to John who runs the place to ask the butt section OD and tip top OD so I could get the appropriate winding checks and tip top. He then told me that the tip top was a 3.0. After a few back and forth emails to confirm whether he was telling me it was 3.0mm or Size #3.0, he confidently told me that it was a size #3.0. The problem is, I don't think they make size 3.0. I can't find any tip tops that go below size #3.5, and I assume those would be for UL rods.

I'm completely new to rod building but I feel like I'm being misled. Thoughts anyone?

williamhj

Reaction score
Yeah a lot of tip tops don't come that small! Here's one I found on mudhole's site, not sure the finish you're looking for but they do have some others in that size. Also found this on ebay.

nick k

Reaction score
Should that lead me to consider another blank instead? Something not appealing about a blank that takes a tip top size that is all but non existent.

dean_mt

Reaction score
It's hard to believe that a 7wt rod could have a #3 tip top. That is really small! Hard to say, I do not want to accuse anyone of the anything, but it sounds "fishy" too me, and not the good "fishy"!

nick k

Reaction score
I find it hard to believe too. I want to email him again but I think he's getting pretty pissed at all my questions. His last email was all caps....

To be honest it's making me not want to buy the blanks.

L

Liphookedau

Hi Nick.
I've dealt with John an Englishman living in Florida however I'd check out Pacbay or one of The other retailers for tip sizes or buy The Blank first then chase The Tip.
The US system for Tip tops are usually in 1/64 inches ie a # 4 is usually 1/16 of an inch.
If a # 3 is 3 mm it would be around 1/8 of an inch which would be a big tip for a 7 Wt Fly Rod ??
Brian.

dean_mt

Reaction score