Glass rods with clear wraps

mcflylures

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
So, I am about to start on a 3wt glass fly rod. I started looking up some pictures of some other builds for some inspiration on thread color and what not. I have never built a glass rod before, and only actually built one other rod. The bright color blanks (usually) make for some pretty and colorful designs with thread wraps. But what I started to notice was a trend of people doing some interesting wraps. What it looks like to me is that they wrap without the guide on the rod. Then seem to place the guide over the wraps, and just epoxy them on. Are they doing wraps with like clear monofiliment thread to keep the guides in place before epoxying? Or are they just epoxying them on, without actually wrapping? What is the reason for this? Just a cool effect?

plecain

Reaction score
Nice effect, but it's an illusion.

If you wrap the guides with, for instance, silk thread, but don't put any color preserver on the wraps, they'll disappear when you apply the epoxy.

Nylon thread will do the same thing but might not give that 'clear as glass' look.

This method is not just for glass rods. It works equally well on graphite.

sdtrout

Reaction score
We have a group of veterans in our Project Healing Waters group building rods right now. One of them chose to build a rod on a sweet looking ORANGE fiberglass blank. If I were doing that build I would have went with the silk wraps/no color preserver route to make the transparent look described above. I think it's a really cool effect, especially on more vibrant colored blanks.

This particular vet chose to go with green wraps on his orange blank. This is also going to make for a pretty rod.

Royce

williamhj

Reaction score
I'll give my 2 cents until an expert weighs in :) I've played around with transparent wraps but haven't been able to get them to my satisfaction, they can be tricky.