The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > >

Fly Rod Building Discussions on building fly rods...

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Old 08-10-2017, 09:27 PM

epicjames is on a distinguished road
Default Guide spacing for 4 piece 9'9'' 5wt and other questions

Hello, folks, noob here, to the site and rod building. I'm taking a stab at this with anglers roost graphite 4 piece 9'9'' 5 wt blank that was given to me. I was first told that it was a 10 footer but when I broke out the tape to measure it, it came to 9'9''. So, my first dilemma is that all the guide spacing calculators and charts I've come across put guides on or very near the connection points. This seems odd and contradicts how all my other rods are put together. Also, I purchased a kit from ebay that contained the cork grip, winding check, 9 guides, tip top, and reel seat. My second dilemma is that 9 guides just seems like it's not enough guides and I keep coming across other kits that include 10 guides plus the tip-top. There's not much interweb info out there on building a rod of this size so this is my last resort before I just throw it together with what I've got in hand and what info I have found.

So my questions are:
1) Should I buy another guide so I will have - 2 stripping guides, 8 guides, tip-top? Or should I go with what I have?
2) Does anyone know the guide spacing for a rod of these characteristics; both 9 guide spacing and 10 guide spacing?
3) How far from the base should I place the first guide?

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice!
Old 08-10-2017, 11:11 PM

pnc is a name known to allpnc is a name known to allpnc is a name known to allpnc is a name known to allpnc is a name known to allpnc is a name known to all
Default Re: Guide spacing for 4 piece 9'9'' 5wt and other questions

Contacting Anglers Roost might be helpful for spacing.
Most 9' rods I have , have 10 guides and tip. 9'9" might call for 11 guides.