10.5 ' blank

dale1386

Reaction score
Guys I'm wanting to start a new build and I'm new at building only built a couple rods and I need help with guide spacing......the blank is a 10 and half foot 2 weight 4 piece. Is there a formula for figuring correct guide placement on multi piece blanks? just thinking about what happens if a guide placement falls right where 2 sections join.
Thanks

el jefe

Reaction score
There are a few approaches you can take.

First, as you noted, there are formulae for guide placement, but I don't recall if they take into account how many pieces the rod is. You can always try the formula approach, and mark the guides to see where they fall. A small adjustment to guide placement to accommodate the ferrules is no big deal.