Teledan’s first fly rod build (Blue Halo 3wt)

teledan

Reaction score
Hey guys, I have been toying with the idea of building a rod for a long time and ended up buying a Blue Halo blank last November when they went on sale. I bought a 7’6” 3wt in their Cappuccino color. It has been sitting in my shelf since then and I just recently picked up a cigar grip, a reel seat, and some guides so it’s on now!! I figured I would start a thread to track the build, I imagine I will be asking some questions along the way. Luckily I have a neighbor who has built a few rods so he has some tools/experience he has offered. Anyway, here is a pic of the blank next to the grip and seat, I am pretty pumped!

The guides I got are black. I am not really into super flashy colors so I am thinking of using either dark brown thread or trying to match the blank color. I am also trying to decide if I should use silk thread or nylon. I am leaning towards silk but am a bit nervous since this is my first build. Is silk harder to work with?

bish0p

Ninja
Reaction score
I haven't used silk thread. Silk is thinner and has less stretch than nylon. It will fray if you burnish too much. If you choose silk, look into getting a color preserver to get the nice tones.

Good luck on your build.

ravenbc

Reaction score
For your first build I would use size A nylon. Silk is a tradional wrapping thread and the only real advantage is when you want transluent or transparent wraps. Silk is thinner and will cause you more issues as well as will break more often while you wrap.

It is still possible to get a transparent wrap with nylon, so if that is the look you are going for nylon will still work, and there are a few tips I can share to get that look.