Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Newbie here

1. Default Newbie here

Just got into fly fishing and figured I would purchase some equipment. Looked on here and got hundreds of different ideas...Ended up with a Albright A5 5wt rod and a Lamson Konic Reel. Got some Trinity waders from albright (duck hunting ones did not cut it). SA Lefty Kreh line from cabela's. Now got to put it together...

How much backing should I put on...

Does it go arbor knot then nail knot for backing to fly line..

Also how is the q]equipment that I bought...Decent stuff ???

Blog Entries

Default Re: Newbie here

Sounds like good stuff to me Hoser. It's tricky to get the backing right but enough so that when you spool the fly line it fills the cage nicely. A nail knot will work to attach backing to line but I've also stripped away a couple inches of the plastic coating then blood knotted the two braided lines together. Someone here will tell you the best way I'm sure. The things I do work for me (most of the time) but aren't always the best way to do things.

Welcome to the forum,

Ard

Anywhere can be the land of great expectations, broken dreams, or paradise found, it's all up to you.

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard
    Ard's Forum blog, Alaska Outdoors

Blog Entries

Hoser,
    I bet your favorite movie is "Strange Brew."

Here's how you deal with the setup dilemna. Go to a fly shop and have the shop guy wind it up for you. While you are there, make sure to buy some leaders, tippet, and flies (at least buy something!) as payment for the service. Or you can give him a 12 pack of beer as a thank you.

MP

4. Default Re: Newbie here

Welcome Hoser41,

I hope you enjoy your new equipment. What neck of the woods are you going to be fishing in?

Anywhere near Elsinor?

5. Default Re: Newbie here

DryFly Guy

Fishing outside of Sacramento on the was up to Lake Tahoe

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by DryFlyGuy View Post

Anywhere near Elsinor?
    That's too funny!