Looking for a 3wt, any advice?

i_throw_bugs

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm on the hunt for a 3wt to get those little trout streams and creeks. I've been looking at some of the TFO (Finesse, Professional, and Signature), St. Croix (Imperial), and Orvis (Clearwater II) rods. I'm a college student, so the funds are limited. The Imperial Series, Finesse, and Clearwater II are the highest I'd go. I'm looking to cast them all before I make a choice. However, does anyone have other suggestions to try? Thanks in advance.

racine

Reaction score
If you can get your hands on a used Sage SLT, Winston BIIX or a very modest Albright A5( probably the most reasonable on student tax bracket) you'll really like them.

cattech89

Reaction score
Hey there Bugs and welcome,
Check this review out. I think that the Redington CT would be a good choice for your small stream rod. Price is nice and warranty is great. I don't know what kind of action you're looking for but the CT has more of a moderate action. Definitely recommend casting as many as you can though.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
With your current limited funds situation, I'd look on EBay, you will be amazed at the deals on almost new condition rods you can find.

Larry

nerka

Reaction score
Do your research, but I have enjoyed the heck out of my TFO Finesse. 7'9" 3wt.

i_throw_bugs

Reaction score
Thank you all for the tips. I've been researching a good bit, now its just a matter of how they feel in my hand. I didn't even think to check ebay, so thanks!

axle27

Reaction score
If you are slim on funds (and most of us are)...consider a LaCrosse Axis II fly rod. I got a 6'6" 2pc 3wt for about $60. I use it strictly for small stream brookie fishing and I really like it.

ausablebrown

Reaction score
Do your research, but I have enjoyed the heck out of my TFO Finesse. 7'9" 3wt.