Newbie with a question on a combo at Cabelas vs. a TFo kit..

bowhuntermac

Reaction score
Before you start bashing guys, I am brand new to fly fishing and know jack squat, and before I drop a lot of coin, I want to make sure I like it. I moved to western Colorado a few years ago and with all the fly fishing around, I figured I should give it a try.

So here is my situation:
I bought a Traditional II combo at Cabelas today and am second guessing myself. It was a Cabelas Tradiotnal II rod with a Presige Plus reel, rod tube, Prestige plus line and backing for $99 (I got a 5wt , 4 pc, per recommendation).

While there the salesman was showing me a TFO combo that he said was a much better deal. It was a TFO Professional series rod with a TFO MK II reel (the add claims it was a $200 reel). Basically it was buy the rod for $149 and get the reel free. He said it was a good deal, but didnt come with line, a tube, etc.

When I told a buddy of mine about it he said I may want to re-think what I had bought and go back for the TFO. To get it set up with the same line, a tube, etc. I would be looking at $200.

My question is whether for a beginner who is fly-experimental, would it be worth it, and is the TFO that much better. I am ate up with bow hunting, so I know you get what you pay for, but would rather get a few opinions on the quality of the two set ups and if the difference in quality between the 2 would be justifiable for a newbie, and if the Cableas is really going to leave me wanting more?

THanks for any input!

Last edited:

Jimmie

Reaction score
First :welcomean. Good having you here. You won't see much bashing at NAFF. A lot of good folks here with a lot of knowledge.
I'm guessing that fly fishing is a lot like bow hunting in that there is a craving to upgrade. I have no knowledge of the rod that you bought, but the TFO Professional Series rods are used by some pretty experienced guys.

bowhuntermac

Reaction score