Orvis Access

rbreedi1

Reaction score
Anyone have one of these rods or have handled one? Looking for some opinions/reviews on them. I appreciate it, thanks!

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi,

Welcome to the forum, I'm hoping one of the members will have some feed back for you. What I can tell you is that I have been owning and casting Orvis rods since 1979 and never cast a bad one. This includes rods from the old Green Mountain series, the original Superfine series rods, Rocky Mountain label, Silver Label, and PM-10 rods. I also have three bamboo from their shop, two were custom build (6'6" 3 weight Flea & an 8' 6 weight) the other is a 1964 8' 10" Light Salmon in eight weight. Even that old wood salmon stick casts beautifully and will handle our silvers with ease.

So, I don't know about the Access rods but I would not hesitate to say they are probably good to go.

Ard

caseywise

Reaction score
hello,
i have a close friend that works at a orvis endorsed lodge. he seems to think that they're great. although it is a relatively new model, ive only heard stellar reviews. diddo for the access reels.

casey

hunt247

Reaction score
I am new to fly fishing this year so my opinion might not be worth much to you, but I do have a 10' 8-wt Access, so far out of all the rods I've casted the Access was still my my favorite rod. It's light, fast & casts a mile with ease, I've casted anything from large streamers to #16 caddis flys with no problems.

wannafish

Reaction score