Affordable fly rod.

wmcook3200

Reaction score
Hello there,
I am new to fly fishing. I have been fishing with a 5 wt rod that I recieved for christmas. I have become totaly hooked on this fly fishing thing and have been practicing alot. Problem is here in the middle of Kansas there aren't many trout to fish for. My fishin opportunities are more limited to bass and carp. I am not having much luck casting bass bugs of much size with my 5 wt. I have been told to buy a 8 or 9 wt rod for fishing for bass. My question is does anyone make a 9 wt fly rod that is affordable. Most rods I have seen seem to cost $300 or more. Surely there is an affordable fly rod out there that performs well. Thanks for any suggestions.

O

okuma

check cabela's rods. i have 2 traditions II rods I like alot. 9 weight is a big rod. how big are the bass?

ghost_reaper

Reaction score
Cabelas had the Redington Red.Fly2 rods on clearance depending on what your looking for. These rods come with a lifetime warranty. WHICH IS HUGE!

I own two of them and the are great rods. I have a 5wt and an 8wt.

ncflyboy

Reaction score
Hi WM,

Welcome to the forum and flyfishing. There are plenty of nice casting rods in the "sub" $100 range. I have fished 3 in this category: Bass Pro Shops "Hobbs Creek" ($89), Bass Pro Shops "Dogwood Canyon" ($55), and Redington's "Crosswater" ($79).

"Bass" flyrod? I've caught more bass on a 4wt with size 10 flies than I can remember. Most were under 3 lbs!

I had an 8wt years ago, and gave it away...I caught more crappies on that thing than bass.

Bass Pro Shops has a line of short (7'10") rods called "heat." 8wt-10wt. $100 each. I like shorter flyrods, and my next one may be the 10wt...to chunk the big stuff for big hungry bass!

Cheers,

Robert

texastroutbum

Reaction score
Welcome to the board WMCook,