Echo 3 & 3S Fly Rods

chicagojohn

Reaction score
A few years ago, a $700 single handed rod seemed unimaginable. Now, Sage, Loomis, and Winston all have rods in the $800 range. U.S. fly rod manufacturers like Echo have seemed to avoid this trend. Echo has, however; released their Echo 3 and 3S lineup of fly rods, which is the company’s biggest push to enter the high end fly rod market.

Does anyone have experience with the new Echo 3 rods? How do these rods measure up against the $750-800+ fly rods on the market? I’m especially interested in learning how the Echo 3S saltwater models match up to some of the better rods on the market. At the $350-380 price range, an angler can buy two of these rods for the price of one Sage One, Winston BIIIX, or Loomis NRX.

Reaction score
I have no experience with either of these rods, but I will say this. Big $$ doesnt always translate to the best rod. Sure, there will be one or two of these rods that will clearly outperform every other rod on the market, but mid level rods are often better than some of the high end rods.
You may be familiar with these rod comparisons for 5-WT and 8-WT rods, and particularly in the 8wt comparison, a $250 rod was deemed to be the second best rod.

Obviously, if you have the money for the big guns, then you get them, but in my opinion, the rod must also fit the arm that casts it, and not just the wallet that pays for it.

It could be that the echo's are better rods than the price says.

chicagojohn

Reaction score