Sage SLT vs. Sage ZXL

Sage & Abel

Reaction score
I've been looking at a number of different Sage rods. As I continue to kill time this winter while I can't fish for trout, I've been researching fly rods and making the occasional purchase :thmbup::thmbup: I've been looking hard at SLT rods and am interested in the comparison between the SLT and the ZXL. I understand the ZXL to be the rod that replaced the SLT - can anyone comment who has fished both rods on their similarities/differences?

Your comments are appreciated!

Cheers,
Mike.

dean_mt

Reaction score
Hi Mike, I can't make the comparison because I have never fished a ZXL but I have been fishing the SLT for many years. I love it. I can only assume that the ZXL is a bit faster, since that is the way rods are "improved" it seems.

What do you fish with now? What is your casting style? What size rod are you looking at? Sorry for all the questions...one more, how is the Chicago winter this year? I grew up straight across the lake, I pity you having to winter in Chicago.

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Hey Mike,
Here's a comment that I put in one of your threads.

What I like about the ZXL over the SLT in the 9 foot 4 weight configuration is that the ZXL has a lighter and crisper feel which matched my tempo better. I feel everything with that rod in every step of the cast. When I made my first cast, everything just felt right from the feel of the grip to the load in the rod.
Dennis

Sage & Abel

Reaction score
Hey Mike,
Here's a comment that I put in one of your threads.

Dennis
Yea I love that ZXL feel, Dennis. It's a rod that sings to me when I cast it.

---------- Post added at 06:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:42 AM ----------

Hi Mike, I can't make the comparison because I have never fished a ZXL but I have been fishing the SLT for many years. I love it. I can only assume that the ZXL is a bit faster, since that is the way rods are "improved" it seems.