SAGE ONE: Looking for thoughts...

shotgunfly

Reaction score
I just paid for my trout unlimited lifetime membership and for doing so get a new Sage One rod and 2050 reel. I've only fished Helios rods and figured a 9'5 'fast action' wouldn't be redundant.

I have no experience with them and am looking for any input from current SAGE owners. I haven't been able to find any forum threads discussing the ONE. If anyone knows where one is please pass it on.

Will I ever go back to Orvis rods?

Thanks in advance.

petee

Reaction score
According to my buddy.... no you will never go back to the Orvis. He said his Sage "One" is the truest tracking, line blasting rod he has ever fished. He hooked up a 30 lb. King on his 8 wt. a couple of week ago and said " I turned the rod into a Hula Hoop". He landed the King with no problems.

I usually believe that all the hype is just marketing, but in this case it may be justified. Hope so as I am starting a new build on a Sage "One" Switch 7116-4 next week.

Pete

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
I have a Sage One 10 ft 5 wt that I bought primarily as a nymphing rod. As Pete says it is is "the truest tracking, line blasting rod he has ever fished", but that being said, I don't think it is any better or worse than the Helios, maybe in the hands of a true master caster you could see the difference, but for me they are both excellent casting rods. I really like the way the One can bomb casts out and the accuracy it has, but it is a stiff rod that takes some real care when setting the hook. It is real easy to get over excited and set the hook a little too aggresively and bang you just broke the fish off. I lost count of the number of fish I broke off when I first got it, but I was determined to get used to how it handled. I fished with it all last year and have gotten used to that idiosyncrasy. Maybe the One would be a better rod in the heavier sizes like an 8 wt.

Pocono

Reaction score