Best Trout Rods ?

attila

Reaction score
What's your best trout rod ever ? I don't know much about glass or boo but my vote is for the Orvis Far&Fine 7'9" 5wt. But Im fishing streams in the eastern US. What's yours ? List as many as you like :)

Last edited:

Rip Tide

Reaction score
The rod that my father built and gave to me on my 16th birthday
A Lamiglass 7.5' 4wt.... it was a pretty spiffy rod at the time and I still use it 40 years later.

shimloom

Reaction score
Well I just got a Hardy Zenith 9' 5wt that I haven't used yet, but, I'm sure from all that I have read it's a winner. Have a G.Loomis 3wt 8'8" Whispercreek GLX I love. Caught a 16" brown on it last year, that was a ride.

Craig

mikel

Reaction score
Orvis Superfine 6'6" 2wt...full flexing magic wand. Not sure how old it is as I found it used, but I've loved it for the last several yrs.

noreaster

Reaction score
Pretty subjective question. I'm not experienced with that many rods to really know.
I really like my old school Sage RPL Graphite III. It's a 5wt 7 foot 9. It's great for the small rivers and streams I like to fish. It's long enough to fit in tight spots and has enough reserve to reach out on breezy days that are so often here on the Island. Plus it has tremendous sentimental value.

The more I grow with and learn about fly fishing, the more I'm coming to realize that it's the rod that chooses the fisherman and not the fisherman who chooses the rod. I think it has more to do with our flaws than with our skills.:)

mikel

Reaction score
Just to be clear....the question is what's YOUR best trout rod ever...not what is THE best trout rod ever....right?

S

sbreech

Mine would be my Orvis Superfine 4wt with a Nautilus FWx 3/4 hanging on it. It likes the Orvis Wonderline WF4F line. Enough rod for any trout around here, and fun enough for the smaller. Full flex, plenty of feel.

caseywise

Reaction score
i have 2 that i love-