6wt or 7wt

fishingtaco

Reaction score
Hello first time posting so please bare with me, I am looking for a new rod and reel in either a 6 or a 7, I live in nh and I normally fish for bass and maybe sometimes trout in a pond. So my question is should I get a 7wt to be able to throw bigger flies and would that be good for trout also? Or would a 6wt be better. I have done a ton of research online and everything says 7 and then it says 6. Sorry if this has been asked before and probably many times.

dpreller

Reaction score
do you own a fly rod already? if not a 6 is a good general purpose first outfit. if you already have something lighter 7 could be fine for bigger flies fish etc.

fishingtaco

Reaction score
Thank you I have been checking out all the different threads for a few months just never posted anything, currently I do own a fly rod it's just a beginner fly rod scientific angler, 6wt 9ft. It served me well for the past few years but now I want something better. Looking at a tfo pro series rod. I think most of the time I will be fishing for bass out of my kayak but there are some trout ponds and we camp in the mountains so I will be doing some trout fishing. I was thinking the 7 for throwing better flies and also with the wind. I live about 40 seconds from a lake up hear. Just want to make sure i get the best bang for my buck, rather get something that will serve me for everything. I don't think I will be catching huge bass but I have caught some good size with my spinning reel.

Last edited:

kuch

Reaction score
I agree with the other post that the 6wt will work best for both trout and bass combined. I use a Scott S4 7wt exclusively for bass and also some steelhead but I had no intentions of fishing trout with it. The 6wt is the best choice for your circumstances.

pete a

Reaction score
I tend to respectfully disagree with many.