Orvis Clearwater?

usmcpowerman1

Reaction score
So im looking at gettting a Orvis Clearwater as my first fly rod. Went to the local shop today and tried a few and it felt the best of the ones i tried. It was a 9' 4 wt. I'm mainly going to use this on some medium sized trout streams around my area and maybe pond fish for some perch or small bass. Any other recomendations? Local shop would throw in line, backing, tippet etc. for free if i bought the rod and the reel from them. Any help would be appreciated as i am totally new at this.

fly_guy12955

Reaction score
The Clearwater is a fine rod, but I wouldn't buy it as an outfit. I'd go with another reel than the Clearwater reel. 9', 4wt outta be just the ticket for what you are fishing for.

fly_guy12955

Reaction score
Well, if you DO buy it as a combo, Orvis has combo's on sale at this time. Might save you some dollars if your local shop doesn't have the sale price on combo's.

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
The Clearwater is a good choice. I think that it is one of the better quality price pointed rods on the market.

If the local shop guy is going to help you out with a line and accessories, by all means, buy a whole outfit. Good local shops are hard to come by, so help him out by having him help you out.

I am not a big fan of the corresponding Clearwater reel. It is just made so hinky meaning I'm not thrilled on the quality. I would be looking at the Battenkill Bar Stock reel if you want that traditional Orvis look or an Access Mid Arbor reel if you want a more modern design.

Dennis

kwb

Traveler of Both Time and Space
Reaction score
I got my girlfriend the Clearwater 8'6" 4 wt and matching Clearwater reel/line for Valentines Day...

I am REALLY impressed with that rod and reel, especially for the price point it is in.

The reel has room for improvement, but it gets the job done... If you can afford it, going with one of their more expensive reels will get you an even better rod/reel combo...