Winston Vapor fly rod 4 a begginner or other options?

brokeONE

Reaction score
I'm just starting out fly fishing my local shop reccomended I should get the winston vapor in the 5w if I don't mind the price. I can't remember the name of the reel, but he told me the complete set up with line would cost me about 450.00. I will be fishing mainly for trout with the ocasional small mouth. I told him that I was looking for a rod that I wouldn't need to upgrade in a couple years once I learn how to fly fish. Does anyone have any suggestions on on rods or experience with this rod? I'm fine with paying 500.00 or less for a complete set-up?

BigCliff

Reaction score
I'd actually suggest getting a ECHO Classic 5wt, a Lamson Konic, and a good line in accordance with your needs.

If you think you'll want another rod before too long, I'd get the same rig in a 6wt now, and then get somebody's 4wt down the road.

zerolimit

Reaction score
I have the 4wt. in 8'6". It's a nice rod and certainly one that would be kept in the stable as you collect more. It's a medium action which should help you develop timing and feel. It really comes down to the pocketbook and what you feel good casting. There are rods from Echo (Classic), TFO (Pro and Finesse), Sage (Fli and Launch).... that may also be good choices in the "not so crazy" price category. Have you had a chance to do any casting with the Vapor or others?

brokeONE

Reaction score
I have casted the vapor. I liked the way it felt, but I really don't have anything to compare it to. I looked at the Sage Fli yesterday.

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi brokeONE,

The Winston Vapor is a fast action rod and won't be as easy to learn with as a slower action rod. It is not hard to learn with just not as easy as a medium action rod. If you bought a Vapor you would not need to upgrade it when you become a better caster.