better 4wt.

jco

Reaction score
which would be the better 4wt. for small to med. trout in small to med. streams. a 9ft. helios 2 in tip flex or a radian 8.5ft. 4wt. I have already tried a8.6 4wt. sage one and found it to be a very accurate rod but it was a little to stiff for me. only interested in these two rods (at this time of course) who knows about tomorrow. thanks

mike_r

Reaction score
The Helios 2 has a nice tip action but is 5wt stiff in the butt. I can't comment on the Radian. I have owned and cast a 864 Recon and it was a dream rod for the waters you described. I broke it and traded up for the H2 904 and regretted it because I had a five weight that pulled the same duties just as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

scout1

Reaction score
I love 4 weights. That being said I have no experience with the two rods you mention. But I have always found that the 8'6" length in a 4 weight makes for a very sweet combination.

Jim

barham

Reaction score
I normally use 5 or 6wt 9ft rods so I am no expert on 4wt rods. However, I had a Redington Aetos 5wt 9ft rod which compared favorably with my other more expensive rods. So, on a lark, I acquired an Aetos 4wt 8 1/2 ft new for around $150.00. It is a really sweet rod and cheap.
I recommend it.
barham

brownbass

Reaction score
Whichever brand you choose, get the 8 !/2 foot model. for small to medium streams that length will suit your needs better than the longer rod. There is a thread from last year that had a lot of information and opinions on the 8 1/2 foot 4 weight. It is a long read but a good thread.

Bill

bob3700

Reaction score
I have owned n fished an 8 1/2 4 wt Radian. Hoped it would have been a fast 4 with feel that would respond well in the wind. It was not the case.
The rod was not happy up close n needed high line speed to make it work.
Traded it for a 486 Sage one. This is the rod I hoped the Radian would be.