Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
  1. Default what salmon rod?

im just getting into salmon fishing this year in the miramichi area. i am looking into getting a decent rod as the one i have now is junk. i was looking at the sage fli and the sage launch as they are in my price range $250ish. just looking for a little feedback weather these rods are any good or is there a better rod out there for that price?

Default Re: what salmon rod?

I didn't buy it specifically for steelhead, but this past year I used my 9 1/2' Fli 6 wt. for that purpose and it worked fine. Just keep in mind that you'll want a reel with a good drag system; that will end up being more important than the rod you're using.

Tha sage fli are are on clearance at most dealers they are closing them out this is the last year for them, I just picked up a 790-4 for $185. The launch has a slower action than the FLI but is a quality rod, but it you can find an FLI in the size your looking for you can get a pretty sweet deal. I dont really steelhead fish but i fish mostly warm water and lotsa of saltwater i own a 586-4, a 790-4, and a 990-4 all FLi's and i like them alot i learnt how to cast with a 9wt launch and it is a great rod but the FlI's are just a bit faster but still have alot of feel. As always if you can try before you buy you are better off. just because i like the FLI's doesn't mean you will.
    JimW

Hi booya,

The Miramichi is a great river but a good deal of it is in private hands. Many of the pools are owned by lodges or clubs. This is big water fishing but from the pictures I have seen most of the river pools are wadeable. You would do well with a single handed rod but the trend is to sprey rods.