Deflection Tests

NWADrew

Reaction score
Just wondering what everyone's opinion is on deflection tests. Since I'm still learning everything I can about rod actions as I buy - fish - sell numerous rods a year while filling my quiver, I've enjoyed Yellowstone Anglers deflection tests and built my own to mirror theirs. I just got a new Sage XP 4wt in last night that's in like new condition. It appears to be a newer model than the two XP's I bought my girl friend. But I compared her 5 wt to my new 4 wt in the deflection tester and the rods have an identical bending profile. The 4 wt was maybe 1/2" higher with a stiffer blank. That surprised me. I was expecting the 4wt to bend more with the rod tip lower with the same 3.8oz of weight. Anyone have thoughts on this result? IMG_4511.jpg

DonW

Reaction score
Not surprising to me, I have a lot of old fiberglass fly rods I have measured and they can be all over the map (most are lighter wt, a few right on, a few heavier) when tested as compared to what was labeled on the rod by manufacture. The newer rods I have measured are much more consistent, and the newest ones are really consistent although typically one wt heavier. My sample size is so small I wouldn't state it as proof of anything but I'm betting if I had endless access to rods to measure I'd put money down that it would hold true for the most part. I have three pairs of rods from the sixties that are supposed to be identical and the only pair to measures out the same was a very high end model back in the day.

sweetandsalt

Reaction score
It is curious that the #5's tip is lower than the #4's, I'd expect the reverse of course. Are your reel seats affixed totally parallel and is the lower taper profile a mirror as the upper is? It helps to see the entire rod when comparing flexural profiles. The purpose of a deflection chart, as in Anderson's Shootouts, is as an indicator of where and how much a rod bends compared to others of similar intent.