Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  22
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Blue Ridge, Rappahanock, Potomac and Fingerlakes Region

Default Thomas and Thomas Rods

As many of you folks know I'm very new to fly fishing. That said I do my research, both online and in the real world. Obviously, first I figure out what species I'm after, where they are that I am reasonably likely to get to water wise, what they eat and therefore what size flies I will need to cast. Then I figure out what is regarded as top of the line in terms of rod weight from reviews, what people are actually using out as they go after that species on that water and then try and find whatever sits in the sweet spot between all of that and look for the top three, either as discounted old, but still NIB inventory or lightly used. In looking at 8wt rods, I have narrowed things down to a couple of candidates, Scott Meridien, Loomis NRX, Orvis Helios 3F and the Thomas and Thomas Exocet. While all did well in many reviews and the most recent shootout for the class, the Thomas and Thomas Exocet caught my eye. It did well in the most recent class shootout and the folks at the company seem nice but I can't find much about them currently other than an odd reference in some of their press materials to a new owner who was taking over to "revitalize" the brand." I searched here and there is information about the company just doesn't seem to be centralized in any way. That said it may be just be operator error in my search engine technique. What can any one tell me about the company, their experience with their rods and customer service, etc. The "vibe " that I get is that it looks like an old established rod house, like Winston, but I can't really get a definitive feel for them so turning to you folks for your collective wisdom. Thanks.