How do the different warrenties stack up?

fishinfool145

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm new to fly fishing. I hired a guide last fall to fish the Provo in Utah and really enjoyed it. I recently purchased a new Lamson Velocity 2 reel and now I'm turning my attention to rods.

I've been an avid Bass fisherman for years (don't hold that against me!) and I have a boat full of Gloomis rods. One of the reasons that I've stuck with Loomis is the warrenty program. When I break a rod (not if) it is usually because I did something stupid. I have no doubt that I will break my fly rod at some point as well.

The Gloomis warrenty process is to go on line and order a replacement rod. Give them a credit card. They ship a new rod. You take out the new rod, put the pieces of your old rod back in, attach the preprinted label and in the end, they charge you $50. No questions asked. If you broke the rod because of a defect, it is a free replacment, but so far, I haven't had any defects...

So, from what I can tell, there are many high quality manufactures of fly rods(I haven't figured out who they all are yet). With the exception of loomis, all of these manufactures are new to me. Who has a warrenty process that stacks up to loomis? Of course I'm looking for a quality rod.

Thanks

RayMO

Reaction score
You may look at Orvis they also have a very good warrenty...

Cooler00

Reaction score
Hi Fishinfool,

This has been discussed/debated quite a bit on this and other forums. It seems to me that the market is competitive enough that most reputable rod manufacturers stand behind their product and at worst aren't to much more difficult to deal with than how you describe your dealings with Gloomis. My guess is that in most cases you're paying up front for the warranty with the initial cost of the rod.

Scott

ab4usa

Reaction score
I'll second the St Croix warranty and their rods. Oddly enough I have my 4 and 5 weight mated to Lamson Velocity reels and they balance nicely.

GRN

Reaction score