Fly rod upgrade questions

Mlatimer

Reaction score
Been using a cheap pflueger combo 5/6wt for the past year and a half and it’s done me good enough to learn to cast and get the basics down. I recently had the chance to try a friends Orvis and the difference in feel was astounding. Ever since then I’ve been shopping for a quality rod. I’ve narrowed it down to 3 in 3 or 4wt, on the graphite team we have the Redington classic trout and TFO pro series 2, on the glass team we have the butterstick. At this point it’s just choosing between glass or graphite. I have only used graphite up to this point so I have no experience with noodly fiberglass rods. I have heard that the new butterstick is not as slow and noodly as the first one so that might make it less of a transition. I do know that one of my big gripes about my current rod is it’s too stiff for my liking making glass an attractive option. Some people say stick with good ol graphite and others say glass is superior for various reasons. Will glass be hard to get used too or easier to use than graphite? I have heard both. Maybe I should stop talking about it and just do it?

clouserguyky

Reaction score