Thoughts on budget outfits

FlySnag

Reaction score
I am relatively new to fly fishing but have otherwise been a avid fisherman. I have been enjoying my Sage Foundation 9' 5wt rod for trout and panfish. I would like to try fishing for bass out of my canoe and even give Steelhead a try on MN North Shore. I really spent more than I wanted to on the previous set up so wanted to get a budget outfit and then upgrade in the future. Seems the Orvis Clearwater 10' 7wt outfit that Orvis offers the the TFO Pro ll outfit from various sites(same length and weight) are right in my $300-400 price range. Any thoughts or suggestions would be welcome. Cautions welcome also. Thanks in advance.

denver1911

Reaction score
My thoughts: go CHEAP or buy what younreally want. If you buy a mid-price outfit ($300-$500), you won’t get everything you want and will wish you had some cash back later to get it.

ia_trouter

Reaction score
And now for a dissenting opinion...... It won't be the last one on a thread of this nature. :)

I can't think of a reason why I can't continue to bass fish another five years with my $500 rod/reel and be very content. That rig might just swing a streamer or float a bobber rig for steehead as well.

That said, whatever you buy, make sure every part of it is not a compromise or you will be remorseful at some point. Even if that means picking up some part of the combo used. There is an endless supply of like new used gear for sale all over the net.

smoke33

Reaction score
$300 is my limit, anything over to me is expensive. I have only been into fly fishing for about 2 years now. By keeping under that mark I have been able to acquire for my son and I rod’s in just about every weight we need. I would much rather spend less and get an array of rods as opposed to take all of that money and only have one rod no matter how good it is. Jmo and others may disagree. There is no right answer and it is a question you will have to answer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk