Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
  1. Default general question

How good of a tier do you need to be to participate. I've been tying for just over 2 years and although NONE of my flies would be shown in an expo I do catch 80% or so of my fish on flies I've tied. Do people tend to tie special patterns or are common/well-known patterns exchanged as well?

2. Default Re: general question

It's not a contest to see who is the better tyer but a chance to share your patterns or interpretations of classic ones.

Most swaps have a theme....wets/dries/stoneflies/foam/hoppers or what have you.

Never know until you try....it's addictive!!!

Love to swap and see who is tying what!!!

"As The deer Thirts For Water, I thirst for you Oh Lord"

North Woods Wanderings
    Adventure into the North Woods.......

"Aroostook Flyers and Tyers"

Default Re: general question

Hi liv2fish,

Thanks for a very good question. The fly swap is intended to be fun and to see what other tiers are doing. It is about sharing recipes and maybe even making friends. No one is expecting to see expo quality flies. I think its more about tying flies that catch fish and not how good they are tyed. Sometimes you see good ideas that you had not thought about doing. During the last swap one of the least experience tyers tyed one of the best flies. Lots of experience is not necessary to participate in a fly swap.

To all of you new tyers who lack confidence and is afraid that their flies may not be as good as someone else, join a swap, it will be well worth your time and effort.

Frank

4. Default Re: general question