Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  19

Thread: Dubbing Rant

Default Dubbing Rant

So I've been tying flies for 25 years plus. Mostly warm and saltwater in sizes 8 to 3/0. I never had much need to Dub bodies on flies and when I did, I mostly just substituted in strung material.
    So this year I started tying more trout flies and some more intricate warm/salt patterns that involve dubbing. Problem is that despite trying all kinds of natural and synthetic dubbings, several threads, and 3 different wax's (plus spit!) I just suck at getting a dubbing rope to form AROUND my thread. My dubbing seems to form parallel to the thread and unevenly. I just can't get any of it to cooperate unless I make a loop ( which I do for bulkier flies).
    I'm watching some You tube video's on the topic but so far, I'm still all thumbs. Any advice on why my dubbing won't go where I want it?
    I've got all winter to work on it !

Blog Entries

Default Re: Dubbing Rant

I am kind of new to tying and the biggest mistake I make is using too much dubbing, less is more. Also, the kind of dubbing makes a difference some are just tougher to dub.

Bill

3. Likes Ard, trev, ia_trouter, dennyk, kentuckysteve liked this post

You have to get the dubbing material pinched between the thread & your hook shank. You should have made a good thread base first. You can twist the dubbing all day & night & never get it to form a rope if you're not anchoring it at the hook. It's not just the matter of twisting it around the thread.

I don't dub a lot of flies either and when I do have some to tie, it's with rabbit fur based dubbing much of the time. What brownbass said is true, they're not all the same, so you have to work with it and get to know what it's going to do & not do.