what are your priorities when buying a rod?

coldbrook

Reaction score
hi,

just curious what your opinion is when shopping for a new rod:

• do you find fly rods generally too expensive?
  • is location of the manufacturer important to you?
  • would you try a new brand of rod, and if so, what would compel you to try a new brand?
  • would you purchase a rod online?
  • what is your number one complaint about fly rods in your experience?

I am thinking of buying a new rod, and generally find the prices very high, so am considering buying one online, maybe a brand I've never heard of. any info is appreciated!
I am also interested long term in getting into rod building...
do you feel there are a shortage of brand choices, or is the market flooded?
thanks for any info guys!

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I have been working in the FF industry since 2005 and specialty sports retail since 1991, so my opinions are biased.

do you find fly rods generally too expensive?
No

is location of the manufacturer important to you?
Somewhat

would you try a new brand of rod, and if so, what would compel you to try a new brand?
Yes. Newer technology.

would you purchase a rod online?
Never

what is your number one complaint about fly rods in your experience?
One size does not fit all.

No.

You are very welcome.

mikel

Reaction score
Good luck with your choices...

yep
    I buy American when it makes sense
  • would you try a new brand of rod, and if so, what would compel you to try a new brand?
    Reviews, reputation. I'd cast a rod before I bought it.
    New, probably not....used, absolutely
    breakage is a pain. Buy a rod with a warranty...

I am thinking of buying a new rod, and generally find the prices very high, so am considering buying one online, maybe a brand I've never heard of. any info is appreciated!

Rip Tide

Reaction score