Do you buy or tie?

Of the flies that you fish with, do you tie them or buy them?

• I don't tie

Votes: 118 21.1%
  • I'll tie a few here and there

Votes: 102 18.2%
  • I buy them occasionally

Votes: 154 27.5%
  • What? Spend money on flies?

Votes: 187 33.4%

• Total voters

SCflyguy

Reaction score
Of the flies that you fish with, what percentage do you tie yourself? Seems like fly fishing and fly tying go hand in hand.

I've been tying for about 10 yrs and haven't bought a fly since. Just wondered 'bout everybody else.

rdh2059

Reaction score
I've been tying my own for 40ish years now. I started out by taking some feathers from one of my mom's prize feather pillows, "borrowing" some of her thread, whittling a clothes pin into a tying vice and some old bait hooks I found snagged at a local stream. Things have changed a LOT since then, but that same fascination and satisfaction with creating something to catch fish with, is still there...

Most fly fishers I know started out by buying their first few flies, then getting frustrated with how fast their precious investments get lost in trees and snags and broken off on fish. A cheap starter fly tying kit comes next. After that, it just seems to develop a mind of its own and it grows and grows...

Best of luck to you...
Rick

Lambster

Reaction score
Flies

We do both! We'll tie 80% of our streamers and nymphs and 40 % on the dries and purchase through online company in Oregon...... hard to beat prices!

Jimmie

Reaction score
It's hard to justify buying flies after the $$ invested in tying. I'm a new tyer so I'm still addicted to buying every new/better, material/tool that I see, and loving it. I'll have to tie for two lifetimes to get the cost of a fly below the store cost. The big reward comes with no wait to get the hot fly of the day. Plus a lot of rewarding time spent tying.

Guest1

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada bor