Simms Waders

troutnut4

Reaction score
I am new to the sport and am contemplating the purchase of a pair of waders and boots. I would appreciate any advice that one can offer on the Simms products and in particular the mid priced "Headwaters" line.Is the G3 Guide model a much better buy?:confused:

rangerrich99

Reaction score
I can't speak for whether the G3s are a better buy, however, I have had the Headwaters for the past two years and I can say that they are a very good pair of waders.

They are very breathable, and pretty darn abrasion/puncture resistant. So if you're going to be stomping through heavy brush, these waders will be more than adequate. If you're going to be sitting in a tube or a boat, I'd suggest spending a little less for more comfortable waders. In my situation, I spend more time in my tube than stomping through brush, so I have a set of LL Bean Emergers for the tube, and use the Simms for bushwhacking.

A couple of items: they are cut pretty close, so they are not baggy, like many other waders. If you plan on layering, you may only get a couple layers under these things. Also, they are pretty stiff out of the box at the knees, so you might need to break them in before embarking on that three mile hike upstream.

littledavid123

Reaction score
If you do a lot of bushwacking (especially the thorny variety) I would opt for the Guide 3 series, I have a pair and really enjoy them. Also Simms is very good about standing behind their products.

Dave

1move

Reaction score